Gratitude

Pink Rose B 8-4-12

Yellow Roses 8-4-12

Pink Rose 8-4-12

The last few weeks have been very difficult.  To say that I’ve been on an emotional roller coaster would be highly understating the matter.  In an attempt to find peace in my life, I’ve been looking for “daily gratitudes” — you know the little things that I should be showing gratitude for, but that often get overlooked in my day-to-day life.

The laundry hamper was full this morning, so I began to sort.  After 35 1/2 years of marriage and raising four children, doing the laundry is not my favorite thing to do.  As I sorted and tried to find a “daily gratitude,” it occurred to me that I could never be grateful for laundry.

I finished sorting and began moving baskets to the garage to start the first load in the washer.  There is a window over my washer which overlooks our backyard.  I looked up and saw the most beautiful pink and yellow roses, and my heart was full of joy!  As my life has been in turmoil, I’ve not spent a lot of time in my backyard.  If I had not done laundry, I would not have had that moment of pleasure.  Thinking of the roses made me joyful all day.

I’m grateful for laundry.

6 thoughts on “Gratitude

Leave a Reply

