Look Up

Trees By Casey Grimley

Trees By Casey Grimley                                                               Picture Used With Permission

I was a kid who followed my Dad around like a puppy wanting to play.  This was particularly true when he was going to do anything outdoors, from yard work to deer hunting.  Dad was different outside.  All the cares and worries of the world evaporated, and he was like a kid himself.

On one particular hunting trip, I believe I was about 12 or 13 years old, Dad and I were walking through some amazingly beautiful country.  I don’t know that I really appreciated what I was seeing, and my wise father apparently guessed as much.

We came to a grove of trees, and Dad stopped.  He said, “Lie down on your back under that tree.”  I didn’t know why he asked me to do that, but I was an obedient child, and I did as I was told.  He laid down beside me and said, “Look up.”  We looked up in complete silence for several minutes.  Then Dad said, “Don’t ever forget how you feel right now.”  I never will.  Looking up through the leaves on those gorgeous trees, I knew (and Dad knew that I knew) that the kind of beauty we were experiencing didn’t happen by accident.

What I felt at that moment was the whispering of the Holy Ghost testifying to me that there is a God.  I’m not a scientist; nor am I a theologian.  I don’t need to be either.  When I need to know what is truth, all I need do is find a grove of trees, an ocean beach, a pristine snow-covered mountain, a waterfall, a rainbow, or the roar of a mountain stream to find it.  The whispering of the Spirit tells my heart that no “big bang” could create such majesty — and that’s good enough for me.

Thanks, Dad.  Thanks for sharing God’s gifts.  Thanks for showing me how to receive inspiration.  Thanks for being you.  I’m looking forward to a sweet reunion in heaven.

Many thanks to Casey Grimley for letting me use his picture.

Find Tudie Rose on Brand Yourself at:  http://tudierose.brandyourself.com/

4 thoughts on “Look Up

  1. Thanks for making me cry! So interesting how you pointed out that all of Dad’s cares went away outside. That’s exactly how I am. Guess the apple never falls far from the tree.

  2. Wonderful post and oh so true. I now know what I want to do with the family today. We are going to visit the park and enjoy the real gifts God has given.

Leave a Reply

