Attitude of Gratitude

Today is the first day of November.  As we gear up for the Thanksgiving holiday, I hope we stop to think about our blessings.  So often we get caught up in the everyday problems of our lives and forget to take note of the good things that happen to us every single day.  I hope to post at least one thing each day this month to show gratitude for my blessings.

I awoke this morning to that wonderful smell of air right after rain — that fresh, clean, wonderful smell of the earth.  I had a good night’s sleep under a roof that doesn’t leak.  I’m grateful for rain and a roof over my head.

My spirit is renewed from a wonderful evening last night with my husband.  We ate Chinese takeout in the rose garden of a local park, then took a nice ride down the river road.  We topped the evening off by driving through a fast food drive through window to order vanilla ice cream to go with the apple cake I made and carefully packed in the car for dessert.  I’m grateful for quiet evenings, roses and other flowers, God’s gift of beautiful nature, and a good marriage.

Date Night in the Rose Garden

Date Night in the Rose Garden, McKinley Park, Sacramento, California

This morning I spoke to the mother of a good friend who passed away this week.  My friend had been ill for a long time.  I’ve been asked to help dress my friend’s body for burial tomorrow, which is a chance to do one last act of service for my dear friend.  I’m grateful today for good friends who make my life so much more meaningful.  I’m grateful that my children and grandchildren are all healthy.

This very moment, my loyal little dog is curled up at my feet while I type.  I’m grateful for this little guy who never leaves my side — unless, of course, there is a squirrel to chase somewhere.

3 thoughts on “Attitude of Gratitude

  1. That’s a wonderful picture! Love this post–especially the mention of your faithful little doggie! This morning I saw a picture of a little dog being rescued from the flood waters back East. I hope he really did end up with a happy ending. I am grateful that my little cats are home and that they are safe and warm. They don’t even realize how lucky they are today.

Leave a Reply

