On a Spiritual High

All too soon, LDS (Mormon) General Conference is over for six months.  I am on a spiritual high.  The messages received from living apostles and prophets of God are always special. Sometimes I think they were given just for me, and that the speakers were speaking directly to me.

During conference I always have a chance online to interact with members of my faith, as well as many others who are not of my faith.  I was particularly touched when I saw this on Twitter:  “I’m not Mormon, but the #ldsconf tweets all over Twitter have some very good life lessons every Christian should take to heart!”  Needless to say, in addition to thanking this person, I have followed him on Twitter.  It is heartwarming to see others not of my faith begin to realize that Mormons are just like other Christians.  We don’t have tails.  We’re not a cult. No, we are very much like everyone else.  We’ve learned a few things about persecution over the last 183 years.  We’ve also learned a lot about turning the other cheek.

We don’t apologize for our beliefs, and we respect the rights of others to worship as they please. As a matter of fact our 11th Article of Faith states:  “We claim the privilege of worshiping Almighty God according to the dictates of our own conscience, and allow all men the same privilege, let them worship how, where, or what they may.”  Since the very beginning, the goal has been to be of service to our fellow human beings, respectful of their beliefs (or lack of them), and to be at peace with our Heavenly Father.

There were so many great speakers (as always) at this General Conference, and I encourage everyone — Mormon as well as those of other faiths, to go to this website and watch.  You can watch entire sessions, or just an individual speaker.  You will be amazed at the peace you feel in your heart.  I will be studying these talks for the next six months until the October General Conference.

I have a testimony of living apostles and prophets.  I have a testimony of the restored church of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

