Accident or Scam?

My husband and I were driving to a local grocery outlet yesterday to buy groceries for a church function.  It was sunset as I was driving down Broadway, and the sun was in my eyes. For that reason, I was driving slow.  A woman ran out of nowhere in front of my vehicle. Neither my husband, nor I saw her until she was in front of the vehicle.  Fortunately, I was able to stop just short of hitting her.

Shaking, I turned the corner and drove into the parking lot of the grocery outlet.  Before I could even get out of my vehicle, the woman approached.  As I got out of the car, she said, “I’m sorry.”  Then she begged for money “to buy noodles for my grandson.”  I told her the sun was in my eyes, that I couldn’t see her and almost hit her.  I told her I was sorry.  Then I told her I wouldn’t give her any money.

Walking through the store, reality set in, and I realized that quite possibly this idiot woman had run in front of my vehicle for the sole purpose of getting money out of me one way or another.  I tried to brush the thought away, because no one would be that crazy!  Or would they?

We left the store, and ran into an old friend in the parking lot who we hadn’t seen in several years.  As we were chatting, an older man approached and asked for money.  He became quite indignant when I turned him down.  After he left, I told our friend what had happened before we went into the store.  She told us that her husband had hit a woman the same way, and she had sued him.  It was proven that she was full of illegal drugs, and that she had previously told people that she was going to run out in front of a car and get hit so she could get money.  Our friend’s husband won the court battle, including his attorney’s fees.

So is this the latest scam?  Are people really crazy enough to throw themselves in front of a moving vehicle to pay for their drug habits?  Is this just a coincidence?  It hardly seems likely that this could happen to two people in the same town by coincidence.

It has been nearly 24 hours since this happened to me, and I still can’t stop thinking about it. I’m so angry!  I could have killed this woman if I had not been going below the speed limit because of the setting sun.  If I had, her family would have sued me because they would have been clueless as to the truth of what really happened.  What on earth are people thinking these days?!  Have we no common sense?  Have we turned into complete animals?

Animals at Bodhaine Ranch

 

DSCI0328

 

 

Leave a Reply

