Between and Betwixt

My energy level goes in spurts.  I run around like a crazy person for several days getting everything done and making check marks on my lists.  Then I crash.  This week was the perfect example.

I cooked a 21-pound turkey that I’ve had in my freezer for a few months because it was cheap meat.  After the initial dinner, I stripped the bones and spent two days making meals to put in my freezer.  In addition, I cleaned house, did laundry, and bathed a dog.

Today I crashed.  So totally did I crash, that I have no recollection of doing anything but sleeping until this evening.  My husband took me to dinner, and it wasn’t 30 minutes upon our return that I fell asleep again.  It is now 8:45 p.m., and I’m wondering if I’ll be up all night, or if I’ll be able to sleep tonight.  Time will tell.

Is this what they call middle age?  I used to work like a crazy person all the time, and it didn’t bother me a bit.  I’m not to the age where I have no energy at all or am physically unable to do things.  I feel “between and betwixt.”

There must be a way to pace myself, but I can’t seem to get into a routine.  It seems to be either feast or famine.  When the energy is there, I can’t seem to stop; when it’s not there, nothing save a fire is going to remove me from my recliner.

Youth, where have you gone?

Leave a Reply

