Commentary Regarding “Ordain Women”

If you are a regular reader, you know I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormon).  This post is commentary on recent developments within the Church, based on my own experience.

I made a mistake earlier in my life, and I’m still paying for it.  While the repentance process is complete, and I know I have been forgiven, I still have trouble forgiving myself, and to some degree, I’m still paying the consequences.

You see, I was a hard-headed, stubborn young woman.  I got a burr in my saddle about a couple of things, and I wouldn’t let go.  I spent 20 years of my life kicking against the pricks about things that don’t even matter anymore.  I’ve spent the last 22 years trying to play “catch up” on things of a spiritual nature.  I lost so much time wanting to be right that I lost sight of the ultimate goal of all things celestial.

This experience gives me unique perspective.  When I first began to blog and became involved in social media, I followed a lot of young Mormon Mommy Bloggers.  I came to know these women and admired them on many levels.  As time went on, however, I watched as one by one they found something to pick at — some little grievance which became a burr in their own saddle, and they wouldn’t let go.  One by one, they left the Church — most of them becoming very bitter.  All this happened because they, like me, couldn’t see the forest through the trees.  They let go of the iron rod and lost sight of the tree of life.  I was sad — very, very sad.

Now there is this group of women who call themselves “Ordain Women.”  These are intelligent women who know the gospel, but have latched onto something and won’t let go. They are so fixated on the idea of women holding the priesthood that they no longer can feel the blessings of womanhood itself.  They have been blinded by the feminist movement to such a degree that they can’t see the eternal nature of women.

Ordain Women’s efforts to have priesthood bestowed upon women resulted in the group appearing at the Priesthood Session of LDS General Conference in Salt Lake City last October demanding admittance.  Two interesting and important things to note:  (1) Women have their own conference to attend; and (2) The Priesthood Session is available on-line and in print for anyone male or female who is interested.  The Church asked them not to pursue the issue, but they are again planning to show up at the Priesthood Session of General Conference in April.  The Church sent a letter to Ordain Women explaining its position and asking that the group not protest on Temple Square.  If these women truly sustain the General Authorities of the Church as prophets, seers, and revelators, they would not pursue this any further.

I come from a long line of strong, bold women who have pushed boundaries and done things unexpected of women that were often challenged by men.  I get it.  I was sexually harassed in the workplace before the term sexually harassed even existed, and the only option was to quit my job.  In my youth I was told that “writing is not a dignified enough profession for a lady.” It was a different time back then.  Believe me — I get it.

There is a difference, however, in proving you can do something as well as a man, and foregoing the blessings of being a woman.  Women have an important role to play in the Church on earth, but more importantly, in the life to come.  We should be reveling in the eternal promises which are ours as women.  We should be on Cloud 9 as we ponder sacred covenants made.  If only these sisters could let go of the worldly vision of womanhood and see themselves as their Heavenly Father sees them.  It makes me very sad.

Sisters, please wake up.  Wake up sooner, rather than later.  Don’t spend 20 years seeking the limelight and the approval of media and others while ignoring the blessings of your Heavenly Father.  Be one with us.  “Stand” with us.  Let’s unite as sisters in Zion and claim our celestial glory.

5 thoughts on “Commentary Regarding “Ordain Women”

Leave a Reply

